Dairy Awards

2015 awards dinner

The Dairy Business of the Year Award has been held annually in Tasmania for the last 30 years. It aims to identify and highlight the attributes of the best dairy farm businesses in Tasmania and provide information of benefit to all dairy farmers.

The Award and associated benchmarking provides entrants with:

  • A financial analysis of their dairy business,
  • A comparison of their performance with the top 10% in the industry,
  • A field day to highlight the winners property, and
  • An opportunity to discuss and understand their results.

2015 awards dinner

The Awards, conducted through the joint efforts of the TIA Dairy Centre and DairyTas, together with sponsorship from industry and service providers, provide an opportunity, free-of-charge, for all dairy farmers to benchmark their dairy farm businesses and obtain feedback on their business performance. This year some 60 farm businesses participated in the Award and benchmarking program.

The associated field days recognise and celebrate dairy farming excellence in business performance, farm management, human resource management and environmental integrity.

The evening was highlighted by a special visit from Prime Minister Abbott

2015 dairy awards dinner

The 2015 dairy awards dinner was a great success with 145 people attending the night in Burnie. The guest speaker was Stephen Creese from Clovelly and the evening was highlighted by a special visit from Prime Minister Abbott.

The awards presented were:

2015 Dairy Business of the Year Award – sponsored by ANZ

Chris Sparks from ANZ presenting the winners award to Grant Archer, Jill and Bill Chilvers

The winners of the 2015 ANZ Dairy Business of the Year are Bill and Jill Chilvers with Grant and Kim Archer at ‘Oakdene’.

Bill and Jill Chilvers own a 1600 hectare property at Symmons Plains. In 2011 they converted part of the property to dairy. Grant and Kim Archer manage the dairy farm as 50% share farmers. In 2013/14, they milked 990 cows and achieved a RoA of 20.6% and an EBIT/ha of $5,738.

Finalists Wayne and Linda Hansen

Runners up are Richard and Melissa Duniam, Currajong Tas Pty Ltd owned by Wayne and Linda Hansen and Duncan and Sally Sadler, and Brian and Michele Lawrence.

Share Dairy Farmer of the Year Award - sponsored by Fonterra

Grant and Kim Archer have progressed through the share farming system from employee to 20% share farmer, 50% share farmer and then farm owner. They still own a dairy farm at Mella and since moving to Longford in 2007, have taken on two share farming positions including their current role as 50% share farmers with Bill and Jill Chilvers at Symmons Plains where in 2013/14 they milked 990 cows and produced 436,510 kg MS.

Cadbury Young Farmer Encouragement Award

Then Cadbury Young Farmer Encouragement Award winner is Joe Hammond from Legana.

VDL Farm Safety Award

The Farm Safety Award is awarded to a farmer or farming business that demonstrates best practice management and procedures in all aspects of farm safety, including training, record keeping and managing and assessing incidents.

The VDL Farm Safety Award winner is Clovelly Dairy at Bridport.

GHD Environmental Award

The Dairy Environmental Award is awarded to a farmer or farming business that is committed to natural resource management and can demonstrate sustained improvement in that contributes to the farm business.

The main criteria are:

  • Contribution to dairy farm management
  • Positive industry NRM outcomes – for the greater good of the industry
  • Better nutrient and effluent management
  • Good soil and water quality management
  • Water use and/or energy efficiency
  • Biodiversity and protecting native habitats

The GHD Environmental Award winner is Gary and Helen Strickland on King Island.

Proudly supported by


Dairy Australia          Roberts          AgriTech

Elphinstone Stevens        Tasmanian Perpetual Trustees        The Australian Dairyfarmer

Additional award sponsors

Cadbury          GHD          VDL Company          Cadbury

Dairy Service Award

The Dairy Service Award recognises significant services to the Tasmanian dairy industry and this year is the first time this award has been presented.

The criteria for this award is as follows:

  • Outstanding service, over 20 years or more
  • Respected across the industry
  • Contribution to the industry beyond an individual farm role and with an organisation supporting the industry (eg TFGA, DairyTas, TDIA, TasHerd, Supplier Forums/milk company representation)
  • Demonstrated passion for the industry
  • Enhanced the reputation of the industry
  • Mentored and supported younger people in the industry

Rhys Palmer is the worthy recipient of this inaugural award, in 2014. Rhys has provided support and encouragement to dairy farmers over many years during his long and diverse career in the industry.

Subscribe to our email newsletter

Newsletters are usually sent fortnightly. You may unsubscribe at any time.

This page has been produced by DairyTas and was last modified Monday 23 April 2018.

The URL for this page is http://www.dairytas.com.au/awards/.

Please contact us with any questions concerning its content.